Division of Education

Dr. Calandra D. Lockhart,

Dean of the Division of Education/Associate Professor


HISTORY AND GENERAL INFORMATION

The Department of Teacher Education offers the following degree programs:

Early Childhood (EC-6)

Middle Grades Education (4-8)

Physical Education (EC-12) and Health (EC-12)  

English Language Arts/Reading (7-12)

Mathematics (7-12)

Life Science (7-12)

History Education (7-12)

Spanish (EC-12)

Music (EC-12)

 We also offer a minor in Music Education.

Candidates who pursue a degree in teacher education are expected to meet the requirements for certification prior to graduation.

MISSION

The mission of the Division of Education is to prepare competent and highly proficient teachers who possess the knowledge, understanding, skills, abilities, and attitudes required of professional educators.

GOALS

General goals of the Division of Education are to:

Provide the content knowledge required to master/pass the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES).

Provide extensive supervised field-based and laboratory experiences throughout the pre-service teacher certification program;

Provide prospective teachers with an understanding of the learner-centered learning processes, and to translate these understandings into appropriate teaching behaviors;

Provide opportunities for teacher candidates to experience professional practices, responsibilities and organizational structure of the education profession;

Develop a cadre of prospective teachers who demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and professional behavior required for becoming effective teachers;and

Prepare teacher candidates with a foundation for successful study at the graduate level.

ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood Education

Bachelor of Science in Middle Grades Education

Bachelor of Science in Physical Education and Health(EC-12)

Bachelor of Science in English/Language Arts/Reading (8-12)

Bachelor of Science in Mathematics(8-12)

Bachelor of Science in Life Science (8-12)

Bachelor of Science in History (8-12)

Bachelor of Science in Spanish EC-12

Bachelor of Science in Music EC-12

Bachelor of Science in Physical Education (EC-12)

For more information about the Division of Education and its programs, please contact the following department faculty:

Calandra Lockhart, Ph.D., Dean of the Division of Education 
(903) 927-3219
clockhart@wileyc.edu

Education

Alice Ajanga, Ph.D.
(903) 927-3331
aajanga@wileyc.edu

Lisa Taylor, M.A.
(903) 923-2432
ltaylor@wileyc.edu

Music

JuYeon (Julia) Lee, Ed.D.
(903) 927-3278
jlee@wileyc.edu

T. Bernard Clayton, Ph.D.
(903) 927-3279
tclayton@wileyc.edu

Mr. Stephen Hayes, B.A.
(903) 927-3052
shayes@wileyc.edu

Physical Education

Mr. Billy Moody
(903) 923-2447
brmoody@wileyc.edu

Mr. Jesse Johnson, B.S.
(903) 927-3060
jjohnson@wileyc.edu 

Mr. Eddie Watson
(903) 927-3060
erwatson@wileyc.edu